Why I am writing about eggnog in July? I came across the recipe recently and thought it would be fun to share it now.

There’s this place in Ithaca, New York called Purity Dairy that makes killer ice cream. It’s got to be the best I’ve ever had, hands down. About ten years ago I found out they make eggnog for about four weeks around Christmas time. It was creamy, egg-y, had a hint of vanilla, cinnamon, and nutmeg. The mouthfeel was thick, almost like drinking melted ice cream which had been refrigerated.

You’ll notice I used the past tense when speaking of the eggnog. The mouthfeel seems like its not as thick as it used to be and the flavor of egg is lighter. It’s still good but I believe the recipe changed. In time I realized I would need to come up with my own recipe so I started playing with a recipe and ere it is.

Granted, it’s a work in progress and I’ll be working on it. Basically you are making a creme anglaise – or ice cream base that is not yet frozen. I wonder what this would taste like with chocolate milk?

Ingredients:
– 6 large egg yolks
– 3/4 cup sugar
– 1/8 cup rum
– 2 1/2 cups milk, whole
– 2 cups heavy cream
– 1 1/2 tablespoons vanilla

Directions:
1) Heat milk and cream in a sauce pan to about 150 degrees.
2) In a medium bowl, beat the vanilla, eggs, and sugar together until it forms ribbons.
3) A little at a time, add in the heated milk and cream, continuing to beat. Add the rum, continuing to beat.
4) Pour all back into the sauce pan and over medium low heat bring to about 165 degrees stirring constantly. Be careful not to heat too fast or much or the eggs will cook.
5) Cool completely and refrigerate.

